The Ruin of Kings

↠ The Ruin of Kings ↠ Jenn Lyons - The Ruin of Kings, The Ruin of Kings There are the old stories And then there s what actually happens Kihrin is a bastard orphan who grew up on storybook tales of long lost princes and grand quests When he is claimed against his will as

  • Title: The Ruin of Kings
  • Author: Jenn Lyons
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 451
  • Format: Hardcover

↠ The Ruin of Kings ↠ Jenn Lyons - The Ruin of Kings, The Ruin of Kings There are the old stories And then there s what actually happens Kihrin is a bastard orphan who grew up on storybook tales of long lost princes and grand quests When he is claimed against his will as

  • ↠ The Ruin of Kings ↠ Jenn Lyons
    451Jenn Lyons
The Ruin of Kings

About " Jenn Lyons "

  • Jenn Lyons

    Jenn Lyons lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband, three cats, and a lot of opinions on anything from the Sumerian creation myths to the correct way to make a martini At various points in her life, she has wanted to be an archaeologist, anthropologist, architect, diamond cutter, fashion illustrator, graphic designer, or Batman Turning from such obvious trades, she is now a video game produc Jenn Lyons lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband, three cats, and a lot of opinions on anything from the Sumerian creation myths to the correct way to make a martini At various points in her life, she has wanted to be an archaeologist, anthropologist, architect, diamond cutter, fashion illustrator, graphic designer, or Batman Turning from such obvious trades, she is now a video game producer by day, and spends her evenings writing science fiction and fantasy When not writing, she can be founding debating the Oxford comma and Joss Whedon s oeuvre at various local coffee shops

  • 483 Comments

  • ARC provided by the publisher Tor Books in exchange for an honest review.Convoluted and complex are probably understatements, but I don t have any other words to describe the main attributes of this debut.For those of you who don t know, The Ruin of Kings have been the fantasy debut that Tor has been promoting heavily for several months now This novel has been advertised as the debut of the year that s targeted For fans of George R R Martin, Robin Hobb, Joe Abercrombie, Brent Week [...]


  • We did this myself and Emma as a combined review for Fantasy Book Review which can be seen here were my thoughts following on from what Emma had already written.I received a limited edition proof copy of The Ruin of Kings in exchange for an honest reviewAdditional notes by James Tivendale I think Emma summed up most of the points perfectly.I agree with what Emma said about the point of views switching between 1st and 3rd person sometimes being c We did this myself and Emma as a combined review f [...]


  • Kihrin is many things orphan, thief, long lost son of a prince destroyer of the world Whatever else he is, he s also having a really bad time of it Everything he s ever believed is lies, truths only discovered though violence and death But since his new life involves evil magicians, a death cult, a war between gods and demons, the kind of family that epitomises the whole keep your enemies closer philosophy, and dragons well, his chances don t seem like they ll be looking up any time soo Kihrin i [...]


  • 3.5 stars, maybe 4 may change as I review the full book upon publication Who are you again So sweet of you to ask I m Talon I ll be your murderer tonight I recently finished reading this preview available on Netgalley of The Ruin of Kings by Jenn Lyons and enjoyed it very much I did have some problems with the chosen narrative style which did not help the story, but the book was fascinating enough to keep me glued to the pages.Our story starts off with the protagonist stuck in a prison c [...]


  • Have you ever been to denial town Currently visiting and it sucks.The Ruin of Kings has been on my radar ever since it was announced in 2018 being compared to Joe Abercrombie one of my favorite authors , Patrick Rothfuss, and Brandon Sanderson It sounded so good a heavy dose of epic fantasy with all the usual nastiness and morally grey characters But I could not connect with a single character or event in this book no matter what I did The convoluted storytelling DID NOT HELP In Fact Have you ev [...]


  • Angsty orphan with his head in the clouds didn t get his happy story so he decides to destroy the world Orphan with his name so conspicuously similar to Krillin s And then even the blurb is so filled with bullshit that they go so far to compare the worldbuilding with Sanderson s and prose with that of Rothfuss which is basically like they compared her with Robin Hobb, modern Mary Shelley Give me a break.I see where this is going, when you finish hyping this book out to heavens and beyond, Angsty [...]


  • The The Ruin of Kings was not for me I do like complex fantasy I enjoy great world building with descriptive storytelling And here comes the BUT But the story is presented in a very original way but I found convoluted and quite confusing way that lead to me developing zero character connections.I received this ARC copy of The Ruin of Kings from Macmillan Tor Forge This is my honest and voluntary review The Ruin of Kings is set for publication Feb 5, 2019.


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *