New Kid

Free Read New Kid - by Jerry Craft - New Kid, New Kid Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang New Kid is a timely honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real from a

  • Title: New Kid
  • Author: Jerry Craft
  • ISBN: 0062691198
  • Page: 182
  • Format: Paperback

Free Read New Kid - by Jerry Craft - New Kid, New Kid Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang New Kid is a timely honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real from a

  • Free Read New Kid - by Jerry Craft
    182Jerry Craft
New Kid

About " Jerry Craft "

  • Jerry Craft

    Jerry Craft has illustrated and or written nearly three dozen children s books, graphic novels and middle grade novels for publishers such as HarperCollins Benchmark, Pearson and his own publishing company, Mama s Boyz, Inc His middle grade graphic novel, New Kid, will be released by HarperCollins on February 5, 2019 Jerry has earned recognition from the Junior Library Guild, and ha Jerry Craft has illustrated and or written nearly three dozen children s books, graphic novels and middle grade novels for publishers such as HarperCollins Benchmark, Pearson and his own publishing company, Mama s Boyz, Inc His middle grade graphic novel, New Kid, will be released by HarperCollins on February 5, 2019 Jerry has earned recognition from the Junior Library Guild, and has won five African American Literary Awards He is the creator of Mama s Boyz, an award winning comic strip that was distributed by King Features Syndicate from 1995 2013 He is a co founder and co producer of the Schomburg s Annual Black Comic Book Festival which has drawn close to 40,000 fans since its inception in 2013 Jerry was born in Harlem and grew up in nearby Washington Heights He is a graduate of The Fieldston School and received his B.F.A from the School of Visual Arts

  • 280 Comments

  • This is going to be THE most talked about graphic novel in the new year This is a story that needs to be read and then talked about Every single chapter had me shaking my head yes Swipe right to see just two pages of serious truth that readers and teachers alike need to be reading Out February 2019


  • A pitch perfect look at a life as a minority kid straddling cultures his neighborhood, his family and his tony new school environment I want to hand this out to every kid and every parent heading into middle school at the many independent schools in my community Fun and moving.


  • An outstanding middle grade graphic novel about not only being the new kid in a new school, but about the ways privilege, bias, and racism both overt and subtle play out Jordan attends a wealthy school on financial aid and is one of the few kids of color there he experiences incredible micro and macro aggressions, and as a light skinned black boy, he sees racism play out in a variety of horrifying ways The art in this is fantastic, and Craft imbues so much pop culture in this book in fu An outst [...]


  • Besides just being a pitch perfect middle school story of growing up, fitting in, and dealing with bullies, NEW KID is also a perfect book to hand off to any tween or adult who struggles to understand the impact of bias and privilege on students and families of color who live and work in predominantly white spaces Craft smooths this additional layer of social and emotional anxiety into the story in such a seamless way that no reader will leave the page without a new understanding of the new Besi [...]


  • An enjoyable graphic novel, full of smart humor and bite sized, accessible social commentary for the middle grade crowd Loved the comics within the comics.


  • Really great graphic novel that is approachable to middle schoolers representing a wide variety of reading abilities and knowledge on racial issues I love how the novel shows multiple examples of students standing up for what is right Feels fresh and funny while being direct about microaggressions.


  • ARC provided by Young Adult Books CentralJordan is not thrilled to be going to a private school several neighborhoods away from his home in Washington Heights, New York City, since it means leaving his best friend and having to deal with a whole new social class of peers Also, if he has to go to a new school, he wishes it were an art school instead, since drawing comics is one of his favorite things to do He is picked up the first day by his student guide, Liam, who is fairly uncommunicative, AR [...]


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *